October 15, 2007

From Paris: International Media Poetry Contest

by Scott Rettberg · , 5:25 am

The Paris-based International Poetry Bienniale has announced a media poetry competition to be judged by luminaries in digital poetics. The prize is an expense-paid trip to the Poetry Biennale in Paris.

From Jean-Pierre Balpe
BIPVAL (Biennale Internationale des Poètes en Val-de-Marne)

For its tenth edition (May 2009), the International Poetry Biennial is
pleased to announce an International Media Poetry Contest.

Works considered “media poetry” are those that place contemporary
technologies at the service of poetry, be it within the framework of a
performance or in that of a recorded and projectable work. Among the many
forms accepted are included videopoetry, digital poetry, multimedia poetry,
sound poetry, interactive poetry, and poetic installations in physical space
or on the Internet. Works that illustrate a poem will not be considered
(these are works that use sound or images to represent or complement a poem,
for example). There are no restrictions regarding the form or content of the
media poems submitted.

Work presented shall not exceed 15 minutes and can be presented in the form
CD, DVD, or on the Internet.

Application: Candidates willing to submit their work to the International of
Media Poetry Contest shall express their intention via email before December
31st, 2007. To do so they shall write an email to:

The works submitted shall arrive at the Poetry Biennial’s office (11 rue
Ferdinand Roussel 94200 Ivry-sur-Seine France) before December 31st, 2008.
If the work is online, the Internet address shall arrive via email before
this date.

A jury made up of eleven international artists (see list below) will examine
the works and will allot the Media Poetry Prize 2009. The prize will be
given to the winner during a special ceremony to be realized during the
Poetry Biennial.

The prize winner will choose between being invited to Paris for one week
with all expenses paid during the Poetry Biennial or the equivalent amount
in cash.

Participation in the contest automatically authorizes the Biennial to
publicly exhibit submitted works. Unless otherwise specified, the copyright
of the works remains with the artists.

1. Baboni-Schilingi Iacopo
2. Beiguelman Giselle
3. Benayoun Maurice
4. Cayley John
5. Chatonsky Grégory
6. Chevalier Miguel
7. Dumond Frédéric
8. Giraudon Liliane
9. Jaffrennou Michel
10. Kac Eduardo
11. Piringer Joerg